NEET Eligibility Criteria 2021 is prescribed by the National Testing Agency (NTA). The students are suggested to read carefully the eligibility criteria before filling the application form. NEET (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test) is a national level entrance examination for MBBS & BDS aspirants. This examination is conducted for providing admissions in various government & private renowned medical institutions & colleges of the country. Students who will completely fulfil the eligibility criteria of NEET will be able to register for the entrance exam. Candidates check here to get complete details about NEET 2021 Eligibility.

NEET Eligibility Criteria 2021

Candidates should check the eligibility before filling the NEET 2021 application form. Here, we have mentioned detailed information about NEET Eligibility 2021:

Eligibility to appear in NEET-UG:

General Eligibility:

  • Aadhaar Card: Aadhaar card is not mandatory to apply for NEET 2021 examination.


Category of CandidatesTypes of permissible IDs

Indian Nationals of all States

Aadhaar Number (last 4 digits)/, Class XII Roll number issued by the Board, Election Card (EPIC No.),Ration Card, Bank Account Passbook with Photograph, Passport Number or Number of any other Photo Identity Card issued by Government.

NRIsAadhaar Number, Passport Number
Foreigners/ OCI/ PIOPassport Number


  • Candidates must be a citizen of India.
  • NRIs (Non-Resident Indians),OCIs (Overseas Citizen of India),PIOs (Persons of Indian Origin) & Foreign Nationals can also apply.
  • Candidates seeking admission in UG medical courses in abroad are required to qualify NEET exam.


Age Criteria:

  • There is a lower age limit for NEET. The applying candidate must have completed a minimum of 17 years of age on or before 31st December 2021.
  • The upper age limit is 25 years as on the date of examination. Candidates above 25 years are provisionally permitted to appear and their candidature is subject to the outcome of pending Petitions before the Hon’ble Supreme Court.


Qualification Criteria:

  • Qualifying Exam: Candidates must have passed the higher/senior secondary examination or its equivalent after a period of 12 years of study.
  • Subjects: Candidates must have passed the above qualifying examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology along with English as a mandatory subject.
  • Minimum Marks: Candidates must secure minimum 50% marks (GEN & GEN-EWS),45% marks (GEN PH) & 40% marks (SC, ST & OBC-NCL) taken together in PCB subjects.
  • Appearing Candidates: Candidates who are in 12th standard can also apply. They must have to show the passing certificates complying with the percentage criteria at the time of the first round of counselling.
  • NIOS or State Open School or private candidates are eligible to apply for NEET exam as per last year High Court of Delhi order. However, the candidate's eligibility depends on the final verdict of the special leave petitions filed by the Medical Council of India.


Note: Marks obtained in maths will not be considered for admission to MBBS/BDS courses.

Eligibility for 15% All India Quota Seats


  • Candidate must be the citizen of India, NRIs, PIOs, OCIs & Foreign Nationals.


For J&K & Ladakh:

  • Candidates from UT of J&K and Ladakh are not eligible for 15% All India Quota seats. If they claim eligibility, they must submit online Self Declaration which will be generated and printed automatically along with confirmation page for the record and to present the same during counselling.
  • Candidates from J&K & Ladakh can appear in NEET exam for admission to Private Medical/Dental Colleges or any Private/Deemed University & Armed Forces Medical College (AFMC),Pune subject to the fulfilment of eligibility conditions.


For Andhra Pradesh & Telangana:

  • From 2018, Andhra Pradesh & Telangana state joins and contribute to the 15% All India Quota seats.
  • Candidates from these states are now eligible for 15% AIQ seats without any self-declaration.


Eligibility for 85% State Quota Seats

All the states participating in the NEET 2021 will be able to fill their 85% seats of MBBS/BDS though state counselling, while the remaining 15% of the seats will be filled through All India centralized counselling. The eligibility for the 85% quota seats of the states are mentioned below:

  • Candidates must have completed/appearing his/her 10th and 12th from the state.
  • Candidate must possess a valid domicile in the state.
  • Candidate should possess a residency proof of the state.


Eligibility for Seats Under The Control Of States/ Deemed Universities/Central Universities /AIIMS/JIPMER/Seats Of ESIC & AFMC Including BHU & AMU/Central Pool Quota:

  • Indian Nationals, NRIs, OCIs, PIOs & Foreign Nationals are eligible for admission in Medical/Dental Colleges subject to rules and regulations framed by the respective State Governments, Institution and the Government of India.
  • Foreign nationals can confirm their eligibility from the concerned Medical/Dental College/State.


Eligibility for Seats in Participating Bodies

There are many other institutes/universities that will be participating in the NEET 2021, some of them include Armed Forces Medical College (AFMC),Banaras Hindu University (BHU),Jamia Hamdard University, University of Delhi.

  • The OCI (Overseas Citizen of India) may also appear the exam subject to the rules of government of India.
  • The upper age limit shall be considered as per the rules of states/ universities/ institutions for those candidates, seeking admission under the control of participating Institutions/ Universities/ States.



Related Tags

NEET 2021 Application Form,NEET 2021 Exam Dates,NEET 2021 Eligibility Criteria,NEET 2021 How to Apply,NEET 2021 Exam Pattern,NEET 2021 Preparation Tips,NEET 2021 Preparation Tips,NEET 2021 Syllabus,NEET 2021 Books

Questions related to Admission?

Get free admission consultancy from Expert.

Call Now